Former Presidents and Honorary Fellows

Influential and Respected: A History of Success

Gerard Clay, first President of TMPDF, reproduced with permission of Robin Baden Clay

The Trade Marks Patents and Designs Federation, as it was called from inception until 2009, when it changed its operating name to IP Federation, was the first UK pan-industry intellectual property trade association established to represent member companies nationally and internationally. It was founded in 1920 in order to co-ordinate the views of industry and commerce in the United Kingdom, and to make representations to the appropriate authorities on policy and practice in intellectual property matters. Its first president was Gerard Clay, and presidents have included many leading people in their field.

For a list of all presidents of the IP Federation from 1920 to date, click on the following link:

Presidents of the IP Federation ››

Former presidents

Many of our former presidents are still active representing their companies on the IP Federation Council:

  • Sonia Cooper
  • Belinda Gascoyne
  • James Horgan
  • Dr Bobby Mukherjee
  • Scott Roberts

Policy advisors

We are pleased to retain as policy advisors to the IP Federation people drawn from our former presidents and others who have made significant contributions to Federation activities:

  • Ruth Barcock
  • Julie Dunnett
  • Dr Tony Rollins
  • David Rosenberg

Honorary Fellows

We are also pleased to have as honorary fellows many of the former presidents of the Federation, and other people who have made significant contributions to Federation activities. Honorary fellows are currently as follows:

  • Mrs C. A. Arnold
  • Dr M. T. Barlow, OBE
  • Mr F. N. Blakemore
  • Mr R. G. Broadie
  • Dr R. J. Burt
  • Miss E. M. Cratchley, OBE
  • Mr T. J. Frain
  • Mr J. R. Hayles
  • Dr M. Jewess
  • Ms S. Oliver
  • Mr P. Orton
  • Mr J. M. Pollaro
  • Mr A. Sugden
  • Mr R. Walter
  • Mr G. W. White

Sadly, another of our honorary fellows, David Lewis OBE, died peacefully in his sleep on 22 December 2023.