Former Presidents and Honorary Fellows

Gerard Clay, first President of
TMPDF, reproduced with per-
mission of Robin Baden Clay

Influential and Respected: A History of Success

The Trade Marks Patents and Designs Federation, as it was called from inception until 2009, when it changed its operating name to IP Federation, was the first UK pan-industry intellectual property trade association established to represent member companies nationally and internationally. It was founded in 1920 in order to co-ordinate the views of industry and commerce in the United Kingdom, and to make representations to the appropriate authorities on policy and practice in intellectual property matters. Its first president was Gerard Clay, and presidents have included many leading people in their field.

For a list of all presidents of the IP Federation from 1920 to date, click on the following link:

Presidents of the IP Federation ››

Former presidents

Many of our former presidents are still active representing their companies on the IP Federation Council:

  • Mr T. Frain
  • Mr J. R. Hayles (Immediate Past President)
  • Mr D. O. Lewis, OBE
  • Dr A. Mukherjee

Policy advisors

We are pleased to retain three of our former presidents as policy advisors to the IP Federation:

  • Mrs C. A. Arnold
  • Dr R. J. Burt
  • Dr M. Jewess

Honorary Fellows

We are also pleased to have as honorary fellows many of the former presidents of the Federation, and other people who have made significant contributions to Federation activities. Honorary fellows are currently as follows:

  • Dr M. T. Barlow, OBE
  • Mr F. N. Blakemore
  • Mr R. G. Broadie
  • Miss E. M. Cratchley, OBE
  • Mr T. N. Gibson
  • Mr P. Orton
  • Mr J. M. Pollaro
  • Dr J. M. Reid, OBE
  • Mr A. Sugden
  • Mr D. H. Tatham, OBE
  • Mr R. Walter
  • Mr G. W. White

Sadly, another of our distinguished former presidents, Dr Dick Fawcett, passed away in May 2014. His obituary, as compiled by Sue Scott for the CIPA Journal, may be viewed HERE.

Our Members

  • AGCO Ltd
  • Airbus
  • ARM Ltd
  • AstraZeneca plc
  • Babcock International Ltd
  • BAE Systems plc
  • BP p.l.c.
  • British Telecommunications plc
  • British-American Tobacco Co Ltd
  • BTG plc
  • Caterpillar U.K. Ltd
  • Cummins Ltd.
  • Dyson Technology Ltd
  • Eli Lilly & Company Ltd
  • Ericsson Limited
  • ExxonMobil Chemical Europe Inc
  • Ford of Europe
  • GE Healthcare
  • GKN plc
  • GlaxoSmithKline plc
  • Glory Global Solutions Ltd
  • HP Inc UK Limited
  • IBM UK Ltd
  • Infineum UK Ltd
  • Johnson Matthey PLC
  • Merck Sharp & Dohme Ltd
  • NEC Europe
  • Nokia Technologies (UK) Limited
  • Ocado Group plc
  • Pfizer Ltd
  • Philips Electronics UK Limited
  • Pilkington Group Ltd
  • Procter & Gamble Ltd
  • Renishaw plc
  • Rolls-Royce plc
  • Shell International Ltd
  • Siemens plc
  • Smith & Nephew
  • Syngenta Ltd
  • UCB Pharma plc
  • Unilever plc
  • Vectura Limited