Governance of the IP Federation is according to the following principles:

  • The Federation is a UK registered company limited by guarantee, operating under articles of association fully revised in October 2012.
  • Its members (as of 30 November 2012) comprised 30 companies paying the “council fee” and 8 companies paying the “committee-only fee”. (Additional funding may be received from associates of the Federation, as of 30 November 2012 4 in number, who have no voting rights.)
  • The Federation’s decision-making on most major issues is by a council which usually meets 11 times per year. The councillors are representatives of the members which pay the council fee plus, optionally, co-opted councillors* (as of 30 November 2012, there were 3 co-opted councillors), plus a representative of the CBI.
  • One of the councillors is the president* of the Federation and (usually) its sole director.* Optionally, one or more other councillors are vice- presidents.*
  • There is a governance committee consisting of a chairman* not being the president, the president ex officio, and from 3 to 5 other councillors*. The terms of reference of the governance committee include financial scrutiny. Its chairman reports to the council. 
At general meetings of the Federation (usually just an annual general meeting in July of each year), all members vote, most particularly in relation to the occupancy of the positions asterisked in the previous list.
There are in addition “open committees” (such as the patent committee) to which all members of the Federation are entitled to send representatives.
The current list of responsibilities for committee members is as follows:

Staff issues

Gill Smith and Julie Dunnett


Ruth Barcock

Travel policy and approval of travel

Steven Ward

Premises and other assets

James Horgan


Alistair Scott

Reviews of registers

Alistair Scott

For the key documents relating to governance, click on the following links: 
 Articles of Association 2012

Articles of Association adopted by special resolution passed at the ninety-third Annual General Meeting on 13 July 2012 with effect from 18 October 2012

 Governance Committee Terms of Reference 2014

Revised terms of reference in the case (expected to be the norm) where the president and the director under the articles are the same person, adopted at a meeting of council on 14 November 2014 with immediate effect

Resolutions of the IP Federation Council October 2012, passed on 19 October 2012 with immediate effect:
1.     Delegation of council’s power on policy positions in cases of urgency
2.     Open committees
3.     Terms of reference of the governance committee
4.     Quorum in council meetings

 IP Federation Anti-Bribery Policy 2015

The IP Federation fully recognises that bribery is a scourge that must be eliminated in all business and political dealings. Not only is bribery wrong, but the slightest hint or accusation of bribery could put at risk the integrity and reputation of the Federation on which its existence and influence depends. The Federation is fully committed to the implementation of the Bribery Act 2010 (“the Act”) which introduced an offence which can be committed by commercial organisations which fail to prevent persons associated with them from carrying out acts of bribery on their behalf. The Federation has taken note of the Ministry of Justice Guidance Note under Section 9 of the Act and believes that, by implementing this policy, it will have in place “adequate procedures” as specified in section 7(2) of the Act. We believe that these procedures also meet Principles 1 to 6 of the Guidance Note.

 IP Federation Subscription Payment Policy 2015

The Federation is reliant on the subscriptions paid by its members and other contributing parties in order to carry out the objects set out in the Articles of Association. This policy sets out the process which will be followed in the event that a subscription is not paid within a specified period of that subscription becoming due.

 IP Federation Equal Opportunities Policy 2016
The IP Federation is committed to promoting diversity and to providing equal opportunities for all staff and job applicants. We acknowledge the unique contribution that all individuals can make. We do not discriminate against staff on the basis of their gender, sexual orientation, pregnancy, maternity, paternity, marital or civil partner status, gender reassignment, race, colour, ethnic or national origin, religion or belief, disability, age or any other inappropriate or irrelevant criteria or distinction. We aim to create an inclusive working environment in which all individuals are able to fulfil their potential and make use of their skills, free from discrimination or harassment, and in which all decisions are based on merit.
Our Members

  • AGCO Ltd
  • Airbus
  • ARM Ltd
  • AstraZeneca plc
  • Babcock International Ltd
  • BAE Systems plc
  • BP p.l.c.
  • British Telecommunications plc
  • British-American Tobacco Co Ltd
  • BTG plc
  • Caterpillar U.K. Ltd
  • Cummins Ltd.
  • Dyson Technology Ltd
  • Eli Lilly & Company Ltd
  • Ericsson Limited
  • ExxonMobil Chemical Europe Inc
  • Ford of Europe
  • GE Healthcare
  • GKN plc
  • GlaxoSmithKline plc
  • Glory Global Solutions Ltd
  • HP Inc UK Limited
  • IBM UK Ltd
  • Infineum UK Ltd
  • Johnson Matthey PLC
  • Merck Sharp & Dohme Ltd
  • NEC Europe
  • Nokia Technologies (UK) Limited
  • Ocado Group plc
  • Pfizer Ltd
  • Philips Electronics UK Limited
  • Pilkington Group Ltd
  • Procter & Gamble Ltd
  • Renishaw plc
  • Rolls-Royce plc
  • Shell International Ltd
  • Siemens plc
  • Smith & Nephew
  • Syngenta Ltd
  • UCB Pharma plc
  • Unilever plc
  • Vectura Limited